What is the Shewhart Cycle? – Learn Everything

shewhart cycle

Continuous improvement is the key to success in any business. The Shewhart Cycle, also known as the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle, is a framework that has been used for decades to improve processes and systems in organizations. In this blog, we will dive deep into the Shewhart Cycle and answer all your questions wrapping it. We will cover what it is, who thought it, and how it works. You will learn about the four steps involved in the cycle – Plan, Do, Check, Act – and how they can be applied to any process to achieve continuous improvement. We will also discuss how relevant this cycle is today and what is the difference between PDCA and PDSA. Toward the end of this blog, you will have a detailed comprehension of the Shewhart Cycle and how to utilize it to develop your business execution further.

What is the Shewhart Cycle?

What is the Shewhart Cycle

The Shewhart cycle, also known as the Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycle, is a quality management method that consists of four steps: plan, do, check, and act. This cycle is named after its creator, Walter A. Shewhart, who developed it in the 1920s to improve processes and achieve continuous improvement. The first step, plan, involves identifying objectives and creating a plan to achieve them. The second step involves implementing the plan and carrying out the activities. The third step, check, involves monitoring and evaluating the results to determine if they meet the objectives. Finally, the fourth step, act, involves making necessary adjustments and implementing improvements based on the findings from the check stage. The Shewhart cycle is widely used in various industries to drive quality improvement and ensure that processes are constantly evaluated and refined.

Who Is The Father Of Shewhart Cycle?

The father of the Shewhart Cycle, also known as the PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act) Cycle, is Walter Andrew Shewhart. Brought into the world on Walk 18, 1891, and dying on Walk 11, 1967, Shewhart was an American physicist, specialist, and analyst who made huge commitments to the field of value control. He developed the PDCA Cycle as a systematic approach for problem-solving and continuous improvement in various industries. The cycle comprises four phases: arranging, executing the arrangement, actually looking at the outcomes, and following up on those outcomes to make fundamental changes. Shewhart’s work laid the foundation for modern quality management practices and continues to be widely used today.

The Four Steps in the Shewhart Cycle

The Four Steps in the Shewhart Cycle

The Four Steps in the Shewhart Cycle can also be referred to as the Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) or Plan-Do-Study-Adjust (PDSA) cycle. While these two terms are frequently utilized conversely, there are slight contrasts between them that merit investigating.

Step 1: Plan

The first step in the PDCA/PDSA cycle is planning, where you identify the problem or opportunity for improvement and set goals and objectives. This includes gathering information and data to grasp what is happening more readily, dissecting it to decide on areas of progress, and fostering a game plan to accomplish your objectives.

Step 2: Do

When a plan has been created, the following stage is to execute it. This involves putting your ideas into action and executing the plan as intended. This may involve training employees, purchasing new equipment or materials, or making changes to processes or procedures.

Step 3: Check/Study

In this step, you will evaluate the results of your actions by comparing them against your initial goals and objectives. You will gather data through observation and measurement to determine if your plan was successful in achieving its desired outcomes. In the event that not, this is an amazing chance to distinguish any issues or detours that might have impacted the outcomes.

Step 4: Act/Adjust

Based on the findings from the previous step, you can now make informed decisions on how to improve or adjust your plan for better results in future cycles. This could involve making minor tweaks or major changes to your plan, implementing new marketing strategies, or revising your goals and objectives. The key is to learn from the data and feedback gathered in the previous steps and use it to continuously improve your processes and achieve better outcomes in future cycles.

What is the Difference Between PDCA and PDSA?

What is the Difference Between PDCA and PDSA

PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act) and PDSA (Plan-Do-Study-Act) are both iterative improvement models that are widely used in various industries. While they share similarities, there are a few vital contrasts between them.

PDCA is a four-step cycle that includes arranging, executing the deal, looking at the results, and moving to upgrade in light of the discoveries. It focuses on continuous improvement by systematically identifying problems, implementing solutions, and monitoring their effectiveness.

On the other hand, PDSA is a more detailed version of PDCA that includes an additional step of studying the results. After planning and carrying out a change or intervention, PDSA emphasizes the importance of studying and analyzing the data to understand the impact of the change. This allows for a more thorough evaluation of the effectiveness of the improvement efforts.

While PDCA and PDSA share similar principles and goals, PDSA adds an extra step of studying the results to gain a deeper understanding of the impact of changes made. Both models can be valuable tools for organizations seeking to improve their processes and achieve better outcomes continuously.


In conclusion, the Shewhart Cycle, also known as the PDCA or PDSA cycle, is a valuable tool for continuous improvement in various industries. It was developed by Walter A. Shewhart, considered the father of the Shewhart Cycle. The four stages of the cycle – Plan, Do, Check, and Act – give a methodical way to deal with critical thinking and navigation. Today, the Shewhart Cycle remains relevant as organizations strive for efficiency and quality. It helps businesses identify areas for improvement, implement changes, and monitor the outcomes. The cycle’s iterative nature considers adaptability and flexibility in a consistently impacting world. Although similar, there is a slight difference between the PDCA and PDSA cycles. PDCA stands for Plan, Do, Check, and Act, while PDSA stands for Plan, Do, Study, and Act. The addition of the “Study” step in the PDSA cycle emphasizes the importance of learning from the results and adjusting accordingly. By incorporating the Shewhart Cycle into your business processes, you can foster a culture of continuous improvement and drive success. So, embrace the power of the Shewhart Cycle and watch your organization thrive.

Related Posts